Nothing Left but “The Arrow”

Oliver – To do what I do Berry, it takes conviction, but more often than not it’s the will to do what’s ugly.  Every time I do that I’m…I’m trading away little pieces of myself. So you asked what’s wrong with me…that’s what’s wrong.  The part that I’m trading away is Oliver Queen.  And lately I’ve been feeling like there’s nothing left except The Arrow.

Barry – I think you’re full of crap.  Look you’ve convinced yourself that everything you went through took away your humanity, but I think it’s because of your humanity that you made it through.  You wouldn’t have survived, much less come out the other end a hero, somebody who wants to do good, if you didn’t have a light inside of you.

 I like this quote and I think they are both right.  Oliver is giving away pieces of himself when he “has the will to do what’s ugly.”  And that is most certainly how it feels to him. If he continues on this path for too long and without people to ground him (like Diggle) he would end up as purely “The Arrow.”  This is what he has been cautioned about all through this season (that he will die alone, that he bottles things up (like Sara’s death), that he doesn’t allow himself to be a blend of Oliver and Arrow).  Pushing the “Oliver” part of him out will not do him any good…but neither will pushing the “Arrow” part out.  

Barry is also right though.  Arrow/Oliver has convinced himself that he “has become something else” in a bad way.  He hasn’t found the balance.  He hasn’t realized that it is the Oliver part of him that has offered light all these years and the “Arrow” part that has helped him make it through.  Oliver is not gone…the playboy is…but Oliver Queen the hero is the light that is pushing him to become something more.  Finding balance is key in becoming a Hero.

Leave a Reply

