Saved

Roy – “You’re…?!”

Oliver – “Yeah…Yeah.”

Roy – “Last year you saved my life, and I don’t mean from the guy who kidnapped me…I mean you saved me.  You gave me purpose.”

Oliver – “We’re just getting started.”

 Roy is pointing out here, once again, that saving a life, weather from a trauma or a series of rough experiences, is about giving the person purpose.  Arrow gave Roy purpose, a reason to change, fight back, be something more.  A reason to rise up out of his situation, and now, in this episode, Oliver is giving Roy the power of love.  With these two, purpose and love, they really are “just getting started.”  What a powerful combination.

(for more on helping others through rough times: Failure Redeemed

Leave a Reply

